Research Guides: Religious Studies &amp; Philosophy: Getting Started: Home

Welcome!

Image: Religious text of Tanaweruow, daughter of Hartophnakhthes and Tatita, via The Metropolitan Museum of Art

Subject Specialist

Alexis Arcaro

she/her/hers

Email Me

Subjects: ESL, Music, Performing Arts, Religious Studies and Philosophy, Visual Arts, World Languages

Daily Life through History This link opens in a new window
Use this resource to learn about what daily life was like (what food people ate, what clothing they wore) throughout different periods of history.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
This database covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. Includes peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Export," direct export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Psychology Collection This link opens in a new window
Database focused on psychology.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Database focused on religion and philosophy.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
World Religions This link opens in a new window
Learn about religions and spiritual practices — through image slideshows, sacred music recordings, maps, and more.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
World Religions: Belief, Culture, and Controversy This link opens in a new window
Gain background information about world religions. Also view primary sources.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Access peer-reviewed, full-text articles journals and reference sources.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
America's Historical Newspapers: 1690-2000 This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text and images of newspapers from across the country including early newspapers (1690-1922), African American Newspapers (1827-1998); Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection (1799-1971), and Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980).
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | Add the article title to the citation if it is missing | URL in citation is stable
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
If the NMH library doesn't have a print copy of an academic title you seek, search for it here, in eBook form.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Export," "Direct Export to NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
A great place to start for research on global issues — learn background information, get analyses, see primary documents, view multimedia, and more.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Issues: Understanding Conflict and Society This link opens in a new window
Working on a hot-button issue? Head to this database to read background information.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Attn: humanities, social sciences, and sciences students! Start with JSTOR for all your scholarly article needs.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite this item," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
OneFile PowerSearch This link opens in a new window
Search few or many subject-focused databases.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Provides background and contextual information on hot-button issues.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable

Local Sites of Interest

Religious/spiritual sites abound nearby for experiential learning! Check out:

Journals, newspapers, & more in the collection

Browse the Print Collection!

The Philosophy Collection is located in the Silent Room; call number range: 100s.

The Religion Collection is located in the Silent Room; call number range: 200s.

Research Tips & Tricks

Want some help with your database research? There's a guide for that!

Religious Studies & Philosophy: Getting Started: Home