Schauffler Library: Senior English: Home

Welcome!

Image: Instead of Man Reading We Have the Bookworm by Christopher Pearse Cranch via the Metropolitan Museum of Art

Boston Public Library Resources

Your free Boston Public Library eCard affords you access to the BPL's vast inventory of eBooks and audiobooks, as well as literary research resources.

Learn how to get your card via our BPL eCard research guide.

Creative Projects

Below are links to some creative final projects made by seniors from the class of 2023

Core Databases

AP Stylebook This link opens in a new window
[ONLY available as a physical book, located at the circulation desk. Please see librarian for assistance]. Style guide for journalists. Covers spelling, language, punctuation, usage, and standard journalistic style.
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Access to information about hundreds of thousands of individuals spanning history to science to literature. Features various types of content, including multimedia.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Britannica Online Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
A combination of the Encyclopædia Britannica and Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus.
To cite in NoodleTools: +Create New Source | Where is it? Database | What is it? Reference Source | URL is stable
Communications and Mass Media Collection This link opens in a new window
A database covering communications and mass media.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Browse or search theatre-related topics: recorded plays, poems and their poets, themes, people, video analyses, and more.
To cite in NoodleTools: +Create New Source | Where is it? Database | What is it? Reference Source | URL is stable
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to the highest-quality academic scholarly journals, books, images, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Information on literary figures from all time periods of writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more. Includes information from the Dictionary Of Literary Biography.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
Online access to the Oxford English Dictionary (OED), which is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language.
To cite in NoodleTools: +Create New Source | Where is it? Database | What is it? Reference Source | URL is stable
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
A single searchable source for scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, working papers, and datasets along with millions of pages of digitized historical primary sources.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Salem Literature This link opens in a new window
Access to Salem Press' literature reference works, which examine American and international literature, novelists, poets, and short stories, as well as how they relate to their plots and themes.
To cite in NoodleTools: +Create New Source | Where is it? Database | What is it? Reference Source | URL is unstable, use database name

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Access to peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A good place to find scholarly articles for a variety of disciplines.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stablee
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
If the NMH library doesn't have a print copy of an academic title you seek, search for it here, in eBook form.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
New York Times (1980-Current date) This link opens in a new window
Coverage of The New York Times (1980-Current date).
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
New comprehensive collections of in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on an ever-growing range of topics. Access is now available for all 25 encyclopedias.
To cite in NoodleTools: +Create New Source | Where is it? Database | What is it? Reference Source | URL is stable
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
A single searchable source for scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, working papers, and datasets along with millions of pages of digitized historical primary sources.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles from 4,000+ periodicals, including scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable

Want some help with your database research?

Check out this guide on searching databases!

Browse the Print Collection!

The Fiction Collection is located in the Smith Room, alphabetical by author.

The Poetry Collection is located in the Silent Room.

The Literary Biography/Memoir/Essay Collection is located in the Silent Room, in the 800s.

MLA

MLA Citation Guide

Purdue OWL

Purdue OWL Writing Center
Purdue OWL is a globally renowned resource that provides assistance with English to students, teachers, professionals, and organizations across the world. Our goal is to assist clients in their development as writers - no matter their skill level.