Articles & More - For The People | C. Edler - Schauffler Library at Schauffler Library, Northfield Mount Hermon School

Research Strategies Evaluate Sources NoodleTools Ask a Librarian

Use these databases to find articles from newspapers, peer-reviewed journals and more!

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Access to peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A good place to find scholarly articles for a variety of disciplines.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stablee
American History This link opens in a new window
Background information, primary sources, and perspectives essays exploring American history from 1350 to the present, organized chronologically and thematically, linking reference, curriculum, and analysis of current events. Browse by type of content, topic, and era.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Gender Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Balanced coverage on gender studies topics.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to the highest-quality academic scholarly journals, books, images, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
OneFile PowerSearch This link opens in a new window
Access to scholarly journal, magazine, and newspaper articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences from Gale's General OneFile and Academic OneFile.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
A single searchable source for scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, working papers, and datasets along with millions of pages of digitized historical primary sources.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Users of this collection can research different religions, philosophies and how they impact our daily lives.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Salem History This link opens in a new window
Online access to Salem Press' history reference works which include the Decades series, Great Events from History, Milestone Documents, and Weapons and Warfare.
To cite in NoodleTools: +Create New Source | Where is it? Database | What is it? Reference Source | URL is unstable, use database name

America's Historical Newspapers: 1690-2000 This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text and images of newspapers from across the country including early newspapers (1690-1922), African American Newspapers (1827-1998); Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection (1799-1971), and Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980).
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | Add the article title to the citation if it is missing | URL in citation is stable
Historical Newspapers and Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Search through historical newspapers and periodicals — a great place to look for articles as primary sources!
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
ProQuest International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search the most recent U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable

iPOLL This link opens in a new window
iPOLL, from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, includes searchable public opinion poll data on thousands of topics ranging from the 1930s, when survey research was in its infancy, to the present. Its collection now includes over 22,000 datasets and adds hundreds more each year. In total, the archive contains responses from millions of individuals on a vast range of topics.
To cite in NoodleTools: +Create New Source | Where is it? Database | What is it? Unpublished Paper or Data | URL is stable
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Published annually by the federal government since 1878, The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best known statistical reference publication in the country, and perhaps the world.
To cite in NoodleTools: +Create New Source | Where is it? Website | What is it? Chart, Table, Infographic (Born Digital) | URL in citation is stable

Publication Finder
Looking for a specific magazine, journal, or newspaper publication? Use this tool to search for and access specific publication titles in our database collection.

A subscription for YOU to NYTimes.com--brought to you by the library!

The library is pleased to be able to offer complete site access to the New York Times using your nmhschool.org email address for one year, with the option to renew.

When you sign up, this is YOUR subscription. On most mobile devices, you can log in through the New York Times website or the NYT app. No, going through the library website; no logging in from off-campus. It's just as if you were paying for your subscription.

To activate your Pass, please follow these steps:

• Visit nytimes.com/passes. Create a free NYTimes.com account using your school email address. If you already have an NYTimes.com account associated with your school email address, log in with those credentials.

• Check your email inbox for our confirmation message. Click on the link in your confirmation message to validate your email address and claim your Pass. If the confirmation email didn’t arrive, check your spam folder. If it isn’t there, email edu@nytimes.com to request confirmation from your school email address.

• You successfully claimed a Pass when you saw the Start Your Access screen. Now, you can enjoy seamless, full access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com, and NYT mobile apps from any location, on or off campus, just by logging into your NYTimes.com account. You may download NYTimes mobile apps at nytimes.com/mobile.

HINT: Remain logged into your NYTimes.com account to have seamless access to NYTimes.com and our mobile apps for the duration of your Pass. Visit nytimes.com/passes to view your Pass expiration timestamp at any time.

If you already have a NYTimes.com ACCOUNT THROUGH NMH and would like to RENEW -- Those of you who are already registered using an NMH email address can go to nytimes.com/passes to claim an academic pass for another year when your complimentary one-year subscription has expired (you will not create an account as you already have one). If, by chance, you have forgotten your password, select the "Forgot Password" link to the right of the Password box.

Interlibrary Loan Article Request

If you come across an article that is behind a paywall--stop and ask for help! Do NOT pay for the article--your friendly librarian staff is here to help you get the needed resources. If you are doing a web search and find something that looks promising, fill out the form below, and we will do our best to send it to you within a week.