Articles & More

Research Strategies Evaluate Sources NoodleTools Ask a Librarian

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Covers important contemporary issues. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.
To cite in NoodleTools: Where is it? Database | What is it? Magazine | URL is stable
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
A complete overview of today's most pressing social issues, covering the most-studied events and current information. It includes viewpoint essays, primary documents, articles from reference books, newspaper and magazine articles, and journal content, as well as streaming video and audio.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Issues: Understanding Conflict and Society This link opens in a new window
Background information, primary sources, and perspectives essays providing the complete historical background and contemporary status of each issue with supporting facts, figures, and timelines.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
A great place to start for research on global issues — learn background information, get analyses, see primary documents, view multimedia, and more.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A good place to find scholarly articles for a variety of disciplines.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Export," direct export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
A single searchable source for scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, working papers, and datasets along with millions of pages of digitized historical primary sources.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to the highest-quality academic scholarly journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite this item," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
OneFile PowerSearch This link opens in a new window
Access to scholarly journal, magazine, and newspaper articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences from Gale's General OneFile and Academic OneFile.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
A complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues, and current information. It includes viewpoint essays, primary documents, articles from reference books, newspaper and magazine articles, and journal content, as well as streaming video and audio.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable

iPOLL This link opens in a new window
iPOLL, from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, includes searchable public opinion poll data on thousands of topics ranging from the 1930s, when survey research was in its infancy, to the present. Its collection now includes over 22,000 datasets and adds hundreds more each year. In total, the archive contains responses from millions of individuals on a vast range of topics.
To cite in NoodleTools: Where is it? Database | What is it? Unpublished Paper or Data | URL is stable

Historical Newspapers and Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Search through historical newspapers and periodicals — a great place to look for articles as primary sources!
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
America's Historical Newspapers: 1690-2000 This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text and images of newspapers from across the country including early newspapers (1690-1922), African American Newspapers (1827-1998); Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection (1799-1971), and Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980).
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | Add the article title to the citation if it is missing | URL in citation is stable

Publication Finder
Looking for a specific magazine, journal, or newspaper publication? Use this tool to search for and access specific publication titles in our database collection.

A subscription for YOU to NYTimes.com, brought to you by the library!

The library is pleased to announce that we have entered into an agreement with the New York Times that will provide everyone with an nmhschool.org email address a personal subscription to the digital NY Times for one year.

When you sign up, this is YOUR subscription. You can log in through the nytimes.com website or via the NYT app on most mobile devices. No going through the library website; no logging in from off campus. It's just as if you were paying for your own subscription.

To activate your Pass, please follow these steps:

• Visit nytimes.com/passes. Create a free NYTimes.com account using your school email address. If you already have an NYTimes.com account associated with your school email address, log in with those credentials.

• Check your email inbox for our confirmation message. Click on the link in your confirmation message to validate your email address and claim your Pass. If the confirmation email didn’t arrive, check your spam folder. If it isn’t there, send an email to edu@nytimes.com from your school email address to request confirmation.

• You have successfully claimed a Pass when you see the Start Your Access screen. Now you can enjoy seamless, full access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com and NYT mobile apps from any location, on or off campus, just by logging into your NYTimes.com account. You may download NYTimes mobile apps at nytimes.com/mobile.

HINT: Remain logged into your NYTimes.com account to have seamless access to NYTimes.com and our mobile apps for the duration of your Pass. Visit nytimes.com/passes to view your Pass expiration timestamp at any time.

Interlibrary Loan - Article/Copy Request
Articles not available at Schauffler Library may be borrowed from other libraries through interlibrary loan. Fill out this google form and you will be sent a scanned copy of the article via email.