Schauffler Library: Trans-Inclusive Education: a guide for teachers and advisors: Further reading

Reliable sources on the web

These web sources will take you to the latest information on gender-related issues in our country.

Relevant databases

Suggested search terms and notes on searching

The databases listed below are available to you via Northfield Mount Hermon's library. You may also access them remotely. If you're interested in learning more about transinclusive education, these databases are a great place to search. Below are some suggested search terms:

Transgender
Trans*
Genderqueer
LGBT
LGBTQ

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Covers important contemporary issues. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.

This resource is now available through Boston Public Library's eCard Online Resources. For more information, visit https://libguides.nmhschool.org/bplecard
To cite in NoodleTools: +Create New Source | Where is it? Database | What is it? Reference Source | URL is stable
Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
A small collection of academic reference e-books and encyclopedias.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Gender Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Balanced coverage on gender studies topics.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable

Non-fiction books available at the library

Being Transgender by Robert Rodi; Laura Ross; Kevin Jennings (Editor)
Call Number: 306.76 R6169
ISBN: 9781422235027
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Beyond Magenta by Susan Kuklin
Call Number: 306.768 K958
ISBN: 9780763656119
Publication Date: 2014-02-11
Beyond Trans by Heath Fogg Davis
Call Number: 306.76 D2937
ISBN: 9781479855407
Publication Date: 2017-06-02
The Gender Quest Workbook for Teens by Rylan Jay Testa; Deborah Coolhart; Jayme Peta
Call Number: 306.76 T286
ISBN: 9781626252974
Publication Date: 2015-12-01
Queer: a Graphic History by Meg-John Barker; Julia Scheele (Illustrator)
Call Number: 305.42 B243
ISBN: 9781785780714
Publication Date: 2016-11-15
Redefining Realness by Janet Mock (Narrated by)
Call Number: Digital audio
ISBN: 9781494514761
Publication Date: 2015-08-25
Rethinking Normal by Katie Rain Hill; Lauren Simkin Berke (Cover Design by)
Call Number: 306.76 H5536
ISBN: 9781481418232
Publication Date: 2014-09-30
Some Assembly Required by Arin Andrews; John E. Barrett (Cover Design by)
Call Number: 306.76 An261
ISBN: 9781481416757
Publication Date: 2014-09-30
Speaking OUT by Rachelle Lee Smith (Photographer); Graeme Taylor (Afterword by); Candace Gingrich (Foreword by)
Call Number: 306.76083 Sm641
ISBN: 1629630411
Publication Date: 2014-11-15
Teaching for Diversity and Social Justice by Maurianne Adams (Editor); Lee Anne Bell (Editor); Pat Griffin (Editor)
Call Number: 370.11 T2206
ISBN: 9780415951999
Publication Date: 2007-04-06
Trans/Portraits by Jackson Wright Shultz
Call Number: 306.76 Sh927
ISBN: 9781611688238
Publication Date: 2015-10-06
Trans Bodies, Trans Selves by Laura Erickson-Schroth (Editor)
Call Number: 306.76 T6871
ISBN: 9780199325351
Publication Date: 2014-06-10
The Transgender Child by Stephanie A. Brill; Rachel Pepper
Call Number: 306.76 B857
ISBN: 9781573443180
Publication Date: 2008-06-28
Transgender Children and Youth by Elijah C. Nealy
Call Number: 306.76 N26
ISBN: 9780393711394
Publication Date: 2017-05-02
Transgender Lives by Kirstin Cronn-Mills
Call Number: 306.76 C8821
ISBN: 9780761390220
Publication Date: 2014-09-01
Transgender Warriors by Leslie Feinberg
Call Number: 305.3 D327g
ISBN: 0807079413
Publication Date: 1997-06-30
You're in the Wrong Bathroom! by Laura Erickson-Schroth; Laura A. Jacobs
Call Number: 306.76 Er449
ISBN: 9780807033890
Publication Date: 2017-05-30

Fiction by trans authors, available at the library

Bad Boy by Leah Raeder; Elliot Wake
Call Number: Wake, E.
ISBN: 9781501115011
Publication Date: 2016-12-06
Dreadnought by April Daniels
Call Number: Daniels, A.
ISBN: 9781682300688
Publication Date: 2017-01-24
I've Got a Time Bomb by Sybil Lamb
Call Number: Lamb, S.
ISBN: 9781627290111
Publication Date: 2014-06-12
Lost Boi by Sassafras Lowrey
Call Number: Lowrey, S.
ISBN: 9781551525815
Publication Date: 2015-04-28
Man Alive by Thomas Page McBee
Call Number: 306.76 M4599
ISBN: 9780872866249
Publication Date: 2014-09-09
My Ladybird Story by Magus Tor; Nada Orlic (Cover Design by); Chase Nottingham (Editor)
Call Number: Tor, M.
ISBN: 9781517309633
Publication Date: 2015-09-11
Nevada by Imogen Binnie
Call Number: Binnie, I.
ISBN: 9780983242239
Publication Date: 2013-03-01
A Safe Girl to Love by Casey Plett
Call Number: Plett, C.
ISBN: 9781627290050
Publication Date: 2014-09-01
If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo
Call Number: Russo, M.
ISBN: 9781250078407
Publication Date: 2016-05-03

Additional resources

LGBTQ Youth and Education by Cris Mayo
ISBN: 0807754889
Publication Date: 2013-11-29
Supporting Transgender and Gender Creative Youth by Elizabeth J. Meyer
ISBN: 143312209X
Publication Date: 2014-05-02

Suggest a purchase & Interlibrary Loan

Are there any additional resources you'd like to see at Northfield Mount Hermon's library? You can suggest a purchase through this form.

If you're looking for the full-text of an article that isn't available through one of our databases, we can order it for you through interlibrary loan. Please fill out this form.