Schauffler Library: Foreign Policy: Getting Started

Choosing a Topic & Search Terms

Thinking Tool

Print out and use this handout from the University of Virginia Library to help you with brainstorming about a topic and choosing search terms.

New York Times - Latest World News

Reference Sources

Salem History
This Database has a great selection of primary sources. The Decades series, Great Events from History, Milestone Documents, and Weapons and Warfare, which are also available as print resources in our Reference Collection, are included.

To cite in NoodleTools: +Create New Source | Where is it? Database | What is it? Reference Source | URL is unstable, use database name
Ethnic Diversity Source
This database covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. Includes peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.

To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Issues & Controversies
Discusses past and current issues with an historical overview of topic, along with pro & con discussions and videos.

To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
A complete overview of today's most pressing social issues, covering the most-studied events and current information. It includes viewpoint essays, primary documents, articles from reference books, newspaper and magazine articles, and journal content, as well as streaming video and audio.

To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable

Highlighted Newspapers

Foreign Policy

Foreign Policy is an American news publication founded in 1970 focused on global affairs, current events, and domestic and international policy. They publish four print issues annually.

The Economist

A weekly newspaper focused on global reporting and analysis of economics, business, geopolitics, technology, and culture

Foreign Affairs

Foreign Affairs is an American magazine of international relations and U.S. foreign policy published by the Council on Foreign Relations, a nonprofit, nonpartisan, membership organization and think tank specializing in U.S. foreign policy and international affairs.