Advanced Topics in U.S. History | Edler: Topics

Searchable full-text and images of newspapers from across the country including early newspapers (1690-1922), African American Newspapers (1827-1998); Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection (1799-1971), and Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980).

Background information, primary sources, and perspectives essays exploring American history from 1350 to the present, organized chronologically and thematically, linking reference, curriculum, and analysis of current events. Browse by type of content, topic, and era.

A complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues, and current information. It includes viewpoint essays, primary documents, articles from reference books, newspaper and magazine articles, and journal content, as well as streaming video and audio.

Use this resource to learn about what daily life was like (what food people ate, what clothing they wore) throughout different periods of history.

This Database has a great selection of primary sources. The Decades series, Great Events from History, Milestone Documents, and Weapons and Warfare, which are also available as print resources in our Reference Collection, are included.

A digital archive of primary sources documenting the American revolution and war that created the United States of America, from the Paris peace treaty in 1763 through the early protests in 1785 to the Paris peace treaty of 1783. The collection examines the political, social, and intellectual upheaval of the age, as well as the actual war for American independence through its eight long years of conflict. A wealth of material from the European point of view is included.

A digital archive of primary sources documenting the war that transformed America, ending slavery and unifying the nation around the principles of freedom. The collection examines the war and all its complexity — its causes and consequences, its battles and campaigns, its political and religious aspects, the experiences of its leaders and common soldiers, the home front and the military campground, and more.

A digital archive of primary sources documenting key aspects of the history of slavery in the United States, from its origins in Africa to its abolition, including materials on the slave trade, plantation life, emancipation, pro-slavery and anti-slavery arguments, religious views on slavery, and other related topics.

Covers the history and culture of African Americans and the greater Black Diaspora. Start here to narrow down your research topic, and to find primary sources and perspective essays.

Background information, primary sources, and perspectives essays exploring the history and culture of American Indians. Browse by era, tribe, state, and region.

Background information, primary sources, and perspectives essays that explore the rich heritage and current culture of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans, Cubans, Dominicans, Colombians, Ecuadorians, and other Hispanic cultures in the U.S. Browse by content type, topic, and era.