Research Guides: Performing Arts: Getting Started: Home

Welcome!

Image: Alvin Aliey American Dance Theater perform Twyla Tharp's, Roy's Joys, photo by Paul Kolnik.

http://www.alvinailey.org

Subject Specialist

Alexis Arcaro

she/her/hers

Email Me

Subjects: ESL, Music, Performing Arts, Religious Studies and Philosophy, Visual Arts, World Languages

Local Performing Arts Venues

Hear live music in the Valley and beyond:

Valley Arts Newsletter

Want to stay in the loop about local arts happenings? Subscribe to the Valley Arts Newsletter!

Core Databases

Performing Arts-Specific Databases

These databases are specifically helpful for art-related needs!

Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Browse or search theatre-related topics: recorded plays, poems and their poets, themes, people, video analyses, and more.
To cite in NoodleTools: Where is it? Database | What is it? Identify source type: Image, Video, or Audio | Select Share Option for Stable URL
Fine Arts and Music Collection This link opens in a new window
Search through academic journals, popular magazines, books, news articles, images, and more for fine arts and music topics.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Art reference database. Includes a pronunciation guide to artists.
To cite in NoodleTools: Where is it? Database | What is it? Reference Source | URL in citation is stable
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
A dictionary focused on music.
To cite in NoodleTools: Where is it? Database | What is it? Reference Source | URL in citation is stable

Other Databases

These databases aren't focused on art, but they may prove helpful in your research.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Access peer-reviewed, full-text articles journals and reference sources.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A good place to find scholarly articles for a variety of disciplines.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Export," direct export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Access to information about hundreds of thousands of individuals spanning history to science to literature. Features various types of content, including multimedia.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
A small collection of academic reference e-books and encyclopedias.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Pop Culture Collection This link opens in a new window
A database focused on pop culture topics.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable

Research Tips & Tricks

Want some help with your database research? There's a guide for that!

Get access to more free resources with the BPL eCard!

Interested in seeing some amazing films and taped live music, dance and theatre performances? With the Boston Public Library eCard, you can sign up for Kanopy, an on-demand streaming video platform that offers films, TV shows and documentaries.

Head to our BPL eCard guide to learn how to sign up.

Browse the Collection!

The Performing Arts can be located in the Silent Room; call number range: 700's.

Performing Arts: Getting Started: Home