Reference Databases - Humanities II | H. Weber and S. Hernandez - Research Guides at Schauffler Library, Northfield Mount Hermon School

Relevant databases for the early stages of research

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
A small collection of academic reference e-books and encyclopedias.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Britannica Online Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
A combination of the Encyclopædia Britannica and Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus.
To cite in NoodleTools: Where is it? Database | What is it? Reference Source, select E-publication (born digital) | URL is stable

ABC-CLIO Databases This link opens in a new window
Search several history- and civics-minded databases, either one at a time or all at once.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of African Americans and the greater Black Diaspora. Start here to narrow down your research topic, and to find primary sources and perspective essays.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
American History This link opens in a new window
Background information, primary sources, and perspectives essays exploring American history from 1350 to the present, organized chronologically and thematically, linking reference, curriculum, and analysis of current events. Browse by type of content, topic, and era.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
American Indian Experience This link opens in a new window
Background information, primary sources, and perspectives essays exploring the history and culture of American Indians. Browse by era, tribe, state, and region.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Daily Life through History This link opens in a new window
Use this resource to learn about what daily life was like (what food people ate, what clothing they wore) throughout different periods of history.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Issues: Understanding Conflict and Society This link opens in a new window
Background information, primary sources, and perspectives essays providing the complete historical background and contemporary status of each issue with supporting facts, figures, and timelines.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
World at War: Understanding Conflict and Society This link opens in a new window
Complete overviews of 27 wars and includes reference entries and primary sources, along with timelines, “causes and consequences” essays, portraits of opponents, and links to supporting facts, figures, primary sources, and audiovisual content. Browse by content type, topic, and era.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
World Geography: Understanding a Changing World This link opens in a new window
A portrait of each country’s location, culture, history, government, and economy, biographies of important political and cultural leaders, plus political and topographical maps of each country and world region. Browse by country.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras This link opens in a new window
Background information, primary sources, and perspectives essays presenting a worldwide perspective ranging far beyond Western Civilization to ancient Africa, the Islamic world, and the East. Browse by content type, topic, and era.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
World History: Modern Era This link opens in a new window
Background information, primary sources, and perspectives essays covering the evolution of modern Europe since the Renaissance; concurrent developments in Asia, Africa, and the Islamic world; the global impact of the Industrial Revolution; and the last 100 years of conflicts and international cooperation. Browse by content type, topic, and era.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
World Religions: Belief, Culture, and Controversy This link opens in a new window
Background information, primary sources, and perspectives essays on religions around the globe, from prehistory to the present. Browse by content type, topic, and religion.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable

Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Access to information about hundreds of thousands of individuals spanning history to science to literature. Features various types of content, including multimedia.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
A great place to start for research on global issues — learn background information, get analyses, see primary documents, view multimedia, and more.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
A complete overview of today's most pressing social issues, covering the most-studied events and current information. It includes viewpoint essays, primary documents, articles from reference books, newspaper and magazine articles, and journal content, as well as streaming video and audio.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
A complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues, and current information. It includes viewpoint essays, primary documents, articles from reference books, newspaper and magazine articles, and journal content, as well as streaming video and audio.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
A complete overview of world history that covers the most-studied events, issues, and current information. It includes viewpoint essays, primary documents, articles from reference books, newspaper and magazine articles, and journal content, as well as streaming video and audio.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable

Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
New comprehensive collections of in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on an ever-growing range of topics. Access is now available for all 25 encyclopedias.
To cite in NoodleTools: Where is it? Database | What is it? Reference Source | URL in citation is stable
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Access to Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and other Oxford art reference resources.
To cite in NoodleTools: Where is it? Database | What is it? Reference Source | URL in citation is stable

World Religions This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive reference database devoted solely to objective coverage of the world's major religions and spiritual traditions.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable

Salem History This link opens in a new window
Online access to Salem Press' history reference works which include the Decades series, Great Events from History, Milestone Documents, and Weapons and Warfare.
To cite in NoodleTools: Where is it? Database | What is it? Reference Source | URL is unstable, use database name