Schauffler Library: English: Getting Started: Home

Welcome!

Image: Instead of Man Reading We Have the Bookworm by Christopher Pearse Cranch via the Metropolitan Museum of Art

Subject Specialist

Beth Ruane

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Schauffler Library
NMH

413-498-3360

Subjects: English, Health, History and Social Sciences, Mathematics, Science

AP Stylebook This link opens in a new window
Style guide for journalists. Covers spelling, language, punctuation, usage, and standard journalistic style.
Communications and Mass Media Collection This link opens in a new window
A database covering communications and mass media.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Browse or search theatre-related topics: recorded plays, poems and their poets, themes, people, video analyses, and more.
To cite in NoodleTools: +Create New Source | Where is it? Database | What is it? Reference Source | URL is stable
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Attn: humanities, social sciences, and sciences students! Start with JSTOR for all your scholarly article needs.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Dictionary focused on literary figures, literary works and everything in between. Features literary criticism, primary sources, reviews, and news.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
Learn definitions, read useage timelines, and check out a historical thesaurus for English words.
To cite in NoodleTools: +Create New Source | Where is it? Database | What is it? Reference Source | URL is stable
Salem Literature This link opens in a new window
Overviews of literature topics.
To cite in NoodleTools: +Create New Source | Where is it? Database | What is it? Reference Source | URL is unstable, use database name

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Access to peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A good place to find scholarly articles for a variety of disciplines.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stablee
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
If the NMH library doesn't have a print copy of an academic title you seek, search for it here, in eBook form.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
New York Times (1980-Current date) This link opens in a new window
Coverage of The New York Times (1980-Current date).
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
New comprehensive collections of in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on an ever-growing range of topics. Access is now available for all 25 encyclopedias.
To cite in NoodleTools: +Create New Source | Where is it? Database | What is it? Reference Source | URL is stable
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
A single searchable source for scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, working papers, and datasets along with millions of pages of digitized historical primary sources.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles from 4,000+ periodicals, including scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable

The New York Times Book Coverage — Updated Regularly!

NMH students get free access to the New York Times — learn how to activate your subscription here.

Browse the Print Collection!

The Fiction Collection is located in the Smith Room, alphabetical by author.

The Poetry Collection is located in the Silent Room.

The Literary Biography/Memoir/Essay Collection is located in the Silent Room, in the 800s.

Research Tips & Tricks

Want some help with your database research? There's a guide for that!

Local Sites of Interest

Sites abound nearby for experiential learning! Check out:

Boston Public Library Resources

Your free Boston Public Library eCard affords you access to the BPL's vast inventory of eBooks and audiobooks, as well as literary research resources.

Learn how to get your card via our BPL eCard research guide.