Research Guides: History & Social Sciences: Getting Started: Home

Welcome!

Image: Fragment of a terracotta head, via The Met.

Subject Specialist

Beth Ruane

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Schauffler Library
NMH

413-498-3360

Subjects: English, Health, History and Social Sciences, Mathematics, Science

Stories from History Today — Updated Regularly!

Core Databases

American History This link opens in a new window
Background information, primary sources, and perspectives essays exploring American history from 1350 to the present, organized chronologically and thematically.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
Biographical information for people whose lives have shaped the United States as a nation.
To cite in NoodleTools: Where is it? Database | What is it? Reference Source | URL is stable
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Access to information about hundreds of thousands of individuals spanning history to science to literature. Features various types of content, including multimedia.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Issues: Understanding Conflict and Society This link opens in a new window
Working on a hot-button issue? Head to this database to read background information.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Provides background and contextual information on hot-button issues.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
United States Geography This link opens in a new window
Background information about geographic regions in the U.S.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Daily Life through History This link opens in a new window
Use this resource to learn about what daily life was like (what food people ate, what clothing they wore) throughout different periods of history.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
A great place to start for research on global issues — learn background information, get analyses, see primary documents, view multimedia, and more.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
Learn definitions, read useage timelines, and check out a historical thesaurus for English words.
To cite in NoodleTools: Where is it? Database | What is it? Reference Source | URL in citation is stable
World Geography: Understanding a Changing World This link opens in a new window
Explore geography concepts and information about each country's location, culture, history, and more.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras This link opens in a new window
Find background information and digitized primary documents related to world history during the ancient and medieval eras.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
World History: Modern Era This link opens in a new window
Find background information and digitized primary documents related to world history during the modern era (1500s to today).
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable

Sources in U.S. History: American Revolution This link opens in a new window
Digitized primary sources related to the American Revolution. Also includes contextual essays and background information.
To cite in NoodleTools: Where is it? Database | What is it? Historical Work in an Archive | URL in citation is stable
Sources in U.S. History: Civil War This link opens in a new window
Digitized primary sources related to the Civil War. Also includes contextual essays and background information.
To cite in NoodleTools: Where is it? Database | What is it? Historical Work in an Archive | URL in citation is stable
Sources in U.S. History: Slavery in America This link opens in a new window
Digitized primary sources relating to slavery in the U.S.
To cite in NoodleTools: Where is it? Database | What is it? Historical Work in an Archive | URL in citation is stable
ProQuest Civil War Era This link opens in a new window
Covers the Civil War from many different angles.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
Find primary sources (especially of political pamphlets and early books) or search through scholarly journals, newspapers historical and contemporary and magazines.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A good place to find scholarly articles for a variety of disciplines.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Export," direct export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Attn: humanities, social sciences, and sciences students! Start with JSTOR for all your scholarly article needs.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite this item," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Psychology Collection This link opens in a new window
Database focused on psychology.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Access peer-reviewed, full-text articles journals and reference sources.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A good place to find scholarly articles for a variety of disciplines.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Export," direct export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Business Collection This link opens in a new window
The source for business and trade publications covering company profiles, business and management.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
If the NMH library doesn't have a print copy of an academic title you seek, search for it here, in eBook form.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Export," "Direct Export to NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A good place to find scholarly articles for a variety of disciplines.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Export," direct export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
American Government This link opens in a new window
Background information, primary sources, and perspectives essays exploring the three branches of government, rights and liberties, political behavior, domestic and foreign policy, and political and economic systems. Browse by type of content and topic.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
If the NMH library doesn't have a print copy of an academic title you seek, search for it here, in eBook form.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Export," "Direct Export to NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection This link opens in a new window
Ideal for research into environmental issues and policies that deal with those issues.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Environmental Studies in Context This link opens in a new window
Research environmental issues via case studies, news articles, reference sources, academic journals, video, and more.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
iPOLL This link opens in a new window
Search through public opinion poll data, from the 1930s to today.
To cite in NoodleTools: Where is it? Database | What is it? Unpublished Paper or Data | URL is stable
Military and Intelligence Database Collection This link opens in a new window
Database with scholarly articles covering all things military and intelligence.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
War and Terrorism Collection This link opens in a new window
Database focused on war on a global scale. Includes multimedia, as well.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable

Criminal Justice Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Gender Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Balanced coverage on gender studies topics.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Attn: humanities, social sciences, and sciences students! Start with JSTOR for all your scholarly article needs.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite this item," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
Primary sources, academic journal articles, and more about aspects of U.S. history.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Find digitized primary documents, news articles, magazine articles, biographies, images and more related to world history.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable

America's Historical Newspapers: 1690-2000 This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text and images of newspapers from across the country including early newspapers (1690-1922), African American Newspapers (1827-1998); Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection (1799-1971), and Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980).
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | Add the article title to the citation if it is missing | URL in citation is stable
Historical American Periodicals (1740-1940) This link opens in a new window
Search for articles published between 1740 and 1940 from all types of periodicals, from general to specialized.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Historical Newspapers and Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Search through historical newspapers and periodicals — a great place to look for articles as primary sources!
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
New York Times with Index (1851-2014) This link opens in a new window
Search through articles from The New York Times from 1851 (its founding) to 2014.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
ProQuest International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles from outside the U.S. and Canada.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable

African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of African Americans and the greater Black Diaspora. Start here to narrow down your research topic, and to find primary sources and perspective essays.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
American Indian Experience This link opens in a new window
Background information, primary sources, and perspectives essays exploring the history and culture of American Indians. Browse by era, tribe, state, and region.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Latino American Experience This link opens in a new window
Background information and historical context regarding the Latino experience in the U.S., from the 1500s to today.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
This database covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. Includes peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Export," direct export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.
To cite in NoodleTools: Where is it? Database | What is it? Reference Source | URL in citation is stable

Browse the Print Collection!

The Social Sciences Collection is located in the Silent Room; call number range: 300s.

The History Collection is located in the Simmons Room; call number range: 900s.

Local Sites of Interest

Historically significant sites abound nearby for experiential learning! Check out:

Research Tips & Tricks

Want some help with your database research? There's a guide for that!

Local History

NMH History

Read the short version here. Visit the Archives (downstairs in Schauffler) for more.

Northfield History

The Northfield Public Library has a variety of local history materials for your perusal.

Gill History

The Gill Historical Commission maintains a website focused on Gill history.