Humanities II | M. Grant and L. Booth: A Good Place to Start

This Database has a great selection of primary sources. The Decades series, Great Events from History, Milestone Documents, and Weapons and Warfare, which are also available as print resources in our Reference Collection, are included.

Complete overviews of 27 wars and includes reference entries and primary sources, along with timelines, “causes and consequences” essays, portraits of opponents, and links to supporting facts, figures, primary sources, and audiovisual content. Browse by content type, topic, and era.

A portrait of each country’s location, culture, history, government, and economy, biographies of important political and cultural leaders, plus political and topographical maps of each country and world region. Browse by country.

Background information, primary sources, and perspectives essays presenting a worldwide perspective ranging far beyond Western Civilization to ancient Africa, the Islamic world, and the East. Browse by content type, topic, and era.

Background information, primary sources, and perspectives essays covering the evolution of modern Europe since the Renaissance; concurrent developments in Asia, Africa, and the Islamic world; the global impact of the Industrial Revolution; and the last 100 years of conflicts and international cooperation. Browse by content type, topic, and era.

A complete overview of world history that covers the most-studied events, issues, and current information. It includes viewpoint essays, primary documents, articles from reference books, newspaper and magazine articles, and journal content, as well as streaming video and audio.

Users of this collection can research different religions, philosophies and how they impact our daily lives.

A comprehensive reference database devoted solely to objective coverage of the world's major religions and spiritual traditions.

Background information, primary sources, and perspectives essays on religions around the globe, from prehistory to the present. Browse by content type, topic, and religion.

Background information, primary sources, and perspectives essays exploring American history from 1350 to the present, organized chronologically and thematically, linking reference, curriculum, and analysis of current events. Browse by type of content, topic, and era.

This Database has a great selection of primary sources. The Decades series, Great Events from History, Milestone Documents, and Weapons and Warfare, which are also available as print resources in our Reference Collection, are included.

A digital archive of primary sources documenting the American revolution and war that created the United States of America, from the Paris peace treaty in 1763 through the early protests in 1785 to the Paris peace treaty of 1783. The collection examines the political, social, and intellectual upheaval of the age, as well as the actual war for American independence through its eight long years of conflict. A wealth of material from the European point of view is included.

A digital archive of primary sources documenting key aspects of the history of slavery in the United States, from its origins in Africa to its abolition, including materials on the slave trade, plantation life, emancipation, pro-slavery and anti-slavery arguments, religious views on slavery, and other related topics.

A digital archive of primary sources documenting the war that transformed America, ending slavery and unifying the nation around the principles of freedom. The collection examines the war and all its complexity — its causes and consequences, its battles and campaigns, its political and religious aspects, the experiences of its leaders and common soldiers, the home front and the military campground, and more.

A complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues, and current information. It includes viewpoint essays, primary documents, articles from reference books, newspaper and magazine articles, and journal content, as well as streaming video and audio.

This Database has a great selection of primary sources. The Decades series, Great Events from History, Milestone Documents, and Weapons and Warfare, which are also available as print resources in our Reference Collection, are included.

Background information, primary sources, and perspectives essays that explore the rich heritage and current culture of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans, Cubans, Dominicans, Colombians, Ecuadorians, and other Hispanic cultures in the U.S. Browse by content type, topic, and era.

Covers the history and culture of African Americans and the greater Black Diaspora. Start here to narrow down your research topic, and to find primary sources and perspective essays.

Combines the authority of carefully edited reference works with sophisticated technology to create the most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.

Background information, primary sources, and perspectives essays exploring the history and culture of American Indians. Browse by era, tribe, state, and region.

Explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community.

This database covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. Includes peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.