Advanced Topics in U.S. History: Lifting as We Climb

Newspaper databases from the Library:

• ProQuest International Newsstream 

  Provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format.

• ProQuest US Newsstream 

  Search the most recent U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.

Newspapers:

• The New York Times (use your free NMH subscription!)
• The Washington Post (available through Proquest Database) Pre-1997 articles
• The Washington Post (available through Proquest Database) 1996 - present

Outside news sources:

• The Associated Press - an American-based global news organization!
• Religion News Service - an American non-profit organization
• The Conversation - a U.S. based non-profit that publishes short articles by academics (college professors) 
• Pew Research Center - a nonpartisan research center 
• al-Jazeera - a state-funded and state-owned television broadcaster in Qatar
• Reuters - a British cooperative news agency 
• BBC - an international television and radio network based in Britain and funded by the British government.
• CNN - an American cable news network 
• National Public Radio - NPR is an American non-profit radio network

From NMH Library:

With Flipster, you have access to over 20 magazines!

You can access Flipster through your computer or download the app to your mobile device!

Once you can access Flipster, click "News, politics & social issues" under the heading "Explore Catagories."

Get access to even MORE free resources with the Boston Public Library eCard!

If you are living or working in Massachusetts as a student or an employee, you are eligible for a free Boston Public Library eCard! That means you can get a BPL eCard when you go to NMH!

With the BPL eCard, you can access the Boston Public Library's online resources, such as download eBooks and audiobooks, language learning and test prep materials, and even research via the BPL's databases.

To Register:

1. Open the Registration Form
2. Fill out the form using your NMH mailing address and email
3. Create a 4-digit PIN--be sure to use something you can remember easily 
4. Once submitted, you will receive an email with a verification code to put in to confirm your account
5. Check your NMH email for the BPL confirmation email with your Library Card number 

After Registering:

You will have access to Libby (ebooks, eMagazines, and Audiobooks), Kanopy (a video streaming service especially good for educational content), Comics Plus (graphic novels), Hoopla (TV shows, videos, audiobooks, ebooks, graphic novels, and music), and many more services.  Visit the Online Resources at BPL page to see all that is available.