Research Guides: World Languages: Getting Started: Home

Welcome!

Image: Leaf of Calligraphy from Poems by Sa'di via The Metropolitan Museum of Art

Subject Specialist

Alexis Arcaro

she/her/hers

Email Me

Subjects: ESL, Music, Performing Arts, Religious Studies and Philosophy, Visual Arts, World Languages

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to the highest-quality academic scholarly journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite this item," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Information on literary figures from all time periods of writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more. Includes information from the Dictionary Of Literary Biography.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
Online access to the Oxford English Dictionary (OED), which is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language.
To cite in NoodleTools: Where is it? Database | What is it? Reference Source | URL in citation is stable
Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
If the NMH library doesn't have a print copy of an academic title you seek, search for it here, in eBook form.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Export," "Direct Export to NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
This database covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. Includes peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Export," direct export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Transparent Languages Online This link opens in a new window
Transparent Language Online for Libraries, a complete language-learning system with courses and lessons designed to build listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills; select from over 110 languages.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Access to peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A good place to find scholarly articles for a variety of disciplines.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Export," direct export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
If the NMH library doesn't have a print copy of an academic title you seek, search for it here, in eBook form.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Export," "Direct Export to NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
New York Times (1980-Current date) This link opens in a new window
Coverage of The New York Times (1980-Current date).
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
New comprehensive collections of in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on an ever-growing range of topics. Access is now available for all 25 encyclopedias.
To cite in NoodleTools: Where is it? Database | What is it? Reference Source | URL in citation is stable
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
A single searchable source for scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, working papers, and datasets along with millions of pages of digitized historical primary sources.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles from 4,000+ periodicals, including scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines.
To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable