Schauffler Library: Poetry: Getting Started

Resources

Databases
Websites

Bloom's Literature
Bloom’s Literature is rich with relevant content on core authors and works, multicultural classics, contemporary literature, and more. Students will find exactly what they need for research and deeper learning without having to wade through an uncurated search. Professors will appreciate the thoughtful organization and important assets—including videos, proprietary essay topics and discussion questions, and valuable writing guidance—that can be used in lectures or for independent study.

To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Digital Theatre+
Browse or search theatre-related topics: recorded plays, poems and their poets, themes, people, video analyses, and more.
To cite in NoodleTools: +Create New Source | Where is it? Database | What is it? Reference Source | URL is stable
Literature Resource Center
Information on literary figures from all time periods of writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more. Includes information from the Dictionary Of Literary Biography.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Salem Literature
Access to Salem Press' literature reference works, which examine American and international literature, novelists, poets, and short stories, as well as how they relate to their plots and themes.
To cite in NoodleTools: +Create New Source | Where is it? Database | What is it? Reference Source | URL is unstable, use database name

Poets.org
Head to the "browse poems & poets" tab to find thousands of each.
Poetry Foundation
The "Poems & Poets" tag is a great way to find poems by topic or occasion and poets by time period, region, and more. Lots and lots of poems! If you find a poet that you like, also check the library catalog to see if we have any books of that person's poetry.
Poetry 180: A Poem A Day for American High Schools
Former poet laureate Billy Collins and the Library of Congress team up on this initiative to bring a poem a day to high school students in the U.S. Includes the full text of all 180 poems.
Modern American Poetry Site
This site is devoted to the scholarly study of modern and contemporary American poetry. Explore to find poems, poet's biographical information, and criticism. There is a particularly helpful feature that allows you to explore poets by their schools.
Poetry International
Explore poetry from nations around the globe! While this organization was founded in the Netherlands, the site features poems from dozens of countries in multiple languages. For foreign language poems, you can choose to have them translated or read them as written. Just select the "Poets & Poems" tab to start exploring.

Poetry in the Library

Looking for poetry in the library?

Head downstairs to the Silent Room and look for the 800s. Poetry collections by a single author are filed under 811 and then the author's last name!

Anthologies, books with multiple authors, are filed under 811 and the first word in the title.

Already know what you want?
You can search the library catalog to see if we have it!

Tip: How to search for books about a poet versus books by a poet

In the catalog, go to Advanced Search
From the drop-down menu, choose Subject
Enter poet's last name, first name (example: Frost, Robert)