Bloom’s Literature is rich with relevant content on core authors and works, multicultural classics, contemporary literature, and more. Students will find exactly what they need for research and deeper learning without having to wade through an uncurated search. Professors will appreciate the thoughtful organization and important assets—including videos, proprietary essay topics and discussion questions, and valuable writing guidance—that can be used in lectures or for independent study.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Access to Salem Press' literature reference works, which examine American and international literature, novelists, poets, and short stories, as well as how they relate to their plots and themes.
To cite in NoodleTools: +Create New Source | Where is it? Database | What is it? Reference Source | URL is unstable, use database name
The "Poems & Poets" tag is a great way to find poems by topic or occasion and poets by time period, region, and more. Lots and lots of poems! If you find a poet that you like, also check the library catalog to see if we have any books of that person's poetry.
This site is devoted to the scholarly study of modern and contemporary American poetry. Explore to find poems, poet's biographical information, and criticism. There is a particularly helpful feature that allows you to explore poets by their schools.
To the Archives!
Looking for more information about a specific poet?
Search online to see if there is a digital archive or exhibit devoted to their work!
Below find a selection of digital collections on a few notable poets.
The Emily Dickinson Collection documents the creative work and personal life of Emily Dickinson, spanning her lifetime, from 1830 to 1886; her family and friends; and the early publication history of her work.
This collection, housed at Yale's Archives contains letters, manuscripts, personal items, photographs, clippings, artworks, and objects that document the life of the well-known African-American poet. The papers span the years 1862-1980.
The Walt Whitman Archive endeavors to make Whitman's vast work freely and conveniently accessible to scholars, students, and general readers.
Biographies of Poets in the Library
Looking for a poet's biography in the library?
Head downstairs to the Silent Room and look for the 800s. Poet's biographies are filed alongside their work, so to find biographies go to 811 and then the poet's last name.
For example, if we were looking fora biography of Emily Dickinson we would search for the call number 811 Dickinson on the shelf.
Schauffler-Rockey Memorial Library | Northfield Mount Hermon | One Lamplighter Way | Mount Hermon, MA 01354 | (413) 498-3484 | librarians@nmhschool.org
