Welcome to the Archives!
Located in the Schauffler Library
The NMH Archive collects, preserves, promotes and makes accessible an array of primary sources such as historical documents, photographs, and publications of or about the school and its founder, D.L. Moody.
In addition, The NMH Archive holds some professional and personal papers of former faculty and alumni.
Other collections of artistic and historical value are also collected and maintained for use in the classroom.
In addition to holding student and administrative records on paper, the archive contains various physical items of historical significance such as:
Letters, diaries, and manuscripts from former students, faculty and staff.
Books of which collections include those from D.L. Moody’s personal library, The Civil War Collection and chapel hymn books.
Photographs from tintypes to Polaroids; our collection of photographs are glimpses into the history of the school and the surrounding area.
Scrapbooks featuring campus events, photographs and ephemera from daily student life.
Teaching Materials from faculty such as realia and lecture notes.
Student publications such as The Hermonite and other student-generated publications dating as far back as 1888.
Ephemera including programs for campus events, catalogues, student handbooks, curriculum guides, directories, calendars and other school-produced publications.
While this is not a complete list of our extensive holdings, some of our major collections include:
Administration
D.L. Moody Family Papers
Buildings and Grounds
Faculty
Academic Life
Student Life
Alumni
Town of Northfield