Schauffler Library: Archives: Digital Collection

Digital Collection

Digitizing material in the NMH Archives is an ongoing process.

We will be posting collections to this page as they become available.

The Hermonite

The Hermonite (1888-1969)
Past issues from the Hermonite are available through the Digital Commonwealth.
To view, click on an issue, and scroll down a little and select "download" from the column on the right. The issue will be downloaded to your computer as a pdf.
more...less...
Currently, the years 1967-1969 are available online.

Finding Aids

Archives are described in guides called, "finding aids" which detail the scope and content of a collection. Here, researchers will find detailed information such as the date span and quantity of the collection, as well as any background information on the creator. Below are some of the finding aids in the NMH Archive that you can view online.

Currently, access to the material detailed in these finding aids is restricted.

Frank L. Duley Papers
Frank L. Duley graduated from Mount Hermon in 1893 and Williams College in 1897; shortly thereafter he was appointed as Deputy Consular General to the United States in Constantinople, where he had originally moved to teach Latin at Roberts College. He returned to the United States to teach at Mount Hermon but soon joined the faculty at Northfield, where he also served as interim principal from 1925 to 1929. He continued to teach there until his retirement and death in 1937. This collection includes correspondence, manuscripts, photographs, lecture notes, and realia that represent the variety of roles Duley played in his life, including Consul General, teacher, principal, and scholar.
James B. Preston class of 1969 Literary Collection
James B. Preston was a student at Northfield Mount Hermon from 1965-1969. Items in this collection include biographical material based on his life including curriculum vitae, photocopies of newspaper articles, photocopies of music reviews written by him, correspondence between JBP and social work professionals in Georgia, poetry therapy lecture notes and teaching materials. The remainder of this collection includes correspondence with Language poets and poets from other schools of poetry including X.J. Kennedy. Also included is biographical material on individuals, chapbooks and literary magazines of the era and published work of the Language poets with whom JBP had correspondence.
Spiritual Life Collection
The Spiritual Life Collection encompasses all materials generated by and for the religious life on the Northfield Mount Hermon campus. This includes sermons, sermon reflections, prayers, benedictions, church programs, meeting minutes, chapel office correspondence, receipts of gifts and donations, brochures, memoranda, and photographs. This also includes documentation concerning the non-Protestant student body, including Catholics, Jews, and Muslims.