Searchable full-text and images of newspapers from across the country including early newspapers (1690-1922), African American Newspapers (1827-1998); Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection (1799-1971), and Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980).
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | Add the article title to the citation if it is missing | URL in citation is stable
Search through historical newspapers and periodicals — a great place to look for articles as primary sources!
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
This Database has a great selection of primary sources. The Decades series, Great Events from History, Milestone Documents, and Weapons and Warfare, which are also available as print resources in our Reference Collection, are included.
To cite in NoodleTools: +Create New Source | Where is it? Database | What is it? Reference Source | URL is unstable, use database name
A complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues, and current information. It includes viewpoint essays, primary documents, articles from reference books, newspaper and magazine articles, and journal content, as well as streaming video and audio.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Search The Catalog
Browse the Print Collection
Start browsing in the Simmons Room at 974.4 -- Massachusetts History
This site provides access to photographs, manuscripts, books, audio recordings, and other materials of historical interest that have been digitized and made available by libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies from across Massachusetts.
Compiled by reference specialists at the Library of Congress, this guide identifies key print and online resources for pursuing family history, as well as state, county and municipal historical research, for the State of Massachusetts.
Founded in 1791, the Massachusetts Historical Society is an invaluable resource for American history, life, and culture. They actively collect personal and family papers—diaries, letters, and other personal records—and, to a lesser extent, the records of institutions and organizations that document the history of Massachusetts and the nation.
The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of primary source materials related to Massachusetts, including books, government documents, manuscripts, maps, motion pictures, photographs, sheet music, and sound recordings. This guide gathers together all related collections.
Welcome to the State Library’s Digital Collections, home to Commonwealth of Massachusetts state publications that have been digitized or published electronically. This repository includes documents published by the Massachusetts Legislature and other state agencies, as well as town reports and historical non-governmental materials.
Schauffler-Rockey Memorial Library | Northfield Mount Hermon | One Lamplighter Way | Mount Hermon, MA 01354 | (413) 498-3484 | librarians@nmhschool.org
