Searchable full-text and images of newspapers from across the country including early newspapers (1690-1922), African American Newspapers (1827-1998); Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection (1799-1971), and Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980).
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | Add the article title to the citation if it is missing | URL in citation is stable
Search through historical newspapers and periodicals — a great place to look for articles as primary sources!
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
This Database has a great selection of primary sources. The Decades series, Great Events from History, Milestone Documents, and Weapons and Warfare, which are also available as print resources in our Reference Collection, are included.
To cite in NoodleTools: +Create New Source | Where is it? Database | What is it? Reference Source | URL is unstable, use database name
A digital archive of primary sources documenting the American revolution and war that created the United States of America, from the Paris peace treaty in 1763 through the early protests in 1785 to the Paris peace treaty of 1783. The collection examines the political, social, and intellectual upheaval of the age, as well as the actual war for American independence through its eight long years of conflict. A wealth of material from the European point of view is included.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
A complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues, and current information. It includes viewpoint essays, primary documents, articles from reference books, newspaper and magazine articles, and journal content, as well as streaming video and audio.
To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Highlighted Newspaper
The Boston Globe
Founded in 1872, The Boston Globe, also known locally as the Globe, is an American daily newspaper founded and based in Boston, Massachusetts.
With more than 125,000 objects and 1.5 million archival materials, Historic New England’s collection tells the story of how New Englanders lived from the seventeenth century to today.
Digital Collections contains digital versions of books, letters, photographs, and other items from the collections of the University of New Hampshire Library.
The Maine Memory Network, a project of the Maine Historical Society, provides access to thousands of historical items, stories, and exhibits from hundreds of organizations and individuals from across Maine.
The State Archives preserves and makes Rhode Island’s historic records accessible to the public. Our holdings date back to 1638 and include Rhode Island’s copies of the Declaration of Independence and Bill of Rights. The Rhode Island Digital Archives provides access to digitized and born digital records in the State Archives’ holdings.
The Vermont Green Mountain Digital Archive (GMDA) is a collaboration between Middlebury College, Vermont State Archives & Records Administration, Vermont Historical Society, Rockingham Free Public Library, Norwich University, St. Michael’s College, University of Vermont, and Vermont Department of Libraries, and brings together photographs, documents, maps, recordings, and other resources related to Vermont and beyond.
Schauffler-Rockey Memorial Library | Northfield Mount Hermon | One Lamplighter Way | Mount Hermon, MA 01354 | (413) 498-3484 | librarians@nmhschool.org
