Skip to main content

Citation Styles Guide

APA Style Citations

Use these tabs to locate the type of source you are citing.

 

For more information about APA Style see:

Books in Print

Physical books you can hold in your hands.

 

In Reference List:

 

Whole Book:

Author Last Name, First Initial Middle Initial. (Publication Year). Title of book. City, State (or Country) of Publication: Publisher’s Name.

 

Pollan, M. (2006). The omnivore’s dilemma: A natural history of four meals. New York: Penguin.

 

Chapter in a Book:

Author Last Name, First Initial Middle Initial. (Publication Year). Chapter title. In Contributors, Title of book (Pages). City, State (or Country) of Publication: Publisher’s Name.

 

Pollan, M. (2006). The farm. In The omnivore’s dilemma: A natural history of four meals. (pp. 32-56). Penguin.

 

 

In-Text Parenthetical:

 

...the end of your sentence (Pollan, 2006).

 

Pollan (2006) found that…

 

In 2006, Pollan explored the...

 

Pollan noticed that...the end of your sentence (2006).

 

 

Books in Databases or Websites

Often referred to as eBooks or electronic books, books in databases require the use of a computer device to read and are found in a subscription database, most often a library database, or on the Internet.

 

In Reference List:

 

Whole Book:

Author Last Name, First Initial Middle Initial. (Publication Year). Title of book. Retrieved from URL.

 

Pollan, M. (2006). The omnivore’s dilemma: A natural history of four meals. Retrieved from http://nmh.axis360.baker-taylor.com/Title?itemId=0017159368&includeRecommendable=false.

 

Chapter in a Book:

Author Last Name, First Initial Middle Initial. (Publication Year). “Chapter title.” In Contributors, Title of book (Pages). Retrieved from URL or Database Name.

 

Pollan, M. (2006). “The farm.” In The omnivore’s dilemma: A natural history of four meals (pp. 32-56). Retrieved from http://books.google.com/books?id=QZ1D4Q8uZuoC&q=farm#v=onepage&q&f=false.

Reference Sources in Print

Physical encyclopedias, dictionaries, and atlases that you can hold in your hands.

 

In Reference List:

Author Last Name, First Initial Middle Initial. (Publication Year). Chapter title. In Contributors, Title of book (Pages). City, State (or Country) of Publication: Publisher’s Name.

 

Freedman, B., Duncan, L., & Lerner, K. L. (2014). Global warming. In K. L. Lerner & B. W. Lerner (Eds.), The Gale encyclopedia of science (pp. 2009-13). Farmington Hills: Gale.

 

Reference Sources in Databases or Websites

Often referred to as eBooks or electronic books, books in databases require the use of a computer device to read and are found in a subscription database, most often a library database, or on the Internet.

 

In Reference List:

Author Last Name, First Initial Middle Initial. (Publication Year). Chapter title. In Contributors, Title of book (Pages). Retrieved from URL or Database Name.

 

Freedman, B., Duncan, L., & Lerner, K. L. (2014). Global warming. In K. L. Lerner & B. W. Lerner (Eds.), The Gale encyclopedia of science (pp. 2009-13). Retrieved from http://libraries.state.ma.us/login?gwurl=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&sw=w&u=mlin_w_nthfield&v=2.1&it=r&id=GALE%7CCX3727801117&asid=979f099120bbdb02e777841421d50cdc.

Newspapers in Print

Printed publications (usually issued daily or weekly) consisting of folded unstapled sheets and containing news, feature articles, advertisements, and correspondence.

 

In Reference List:

Author Last Name, First Initial Middle Initial. (Publication Date). Article title. Title of Newspaper.

 

Stager, C. (2017, January 7). What the muck of Walden Pond tells us about our planet. The New York Times.

 

Newspapers in Databases or Websites

These newspaper articles require the use of a computer device to read and are found in a subscription database, most often in a library database, or on the Internet.

 

In Reference List:

Author Last Name, First Initial Middle Initial. (Publication Date). Article title. Title of Newspaper. Retrieved from URL or Database Name.


Stager, C. (2017, January 7). What the muck of Walden Pond tells us about our planet. The New York Times. Retrieved from http://search.proquest.com/docview/1856440027/A0A2C78E70564AD7PQ/1?accountid=5771.

Magazines in Print

Printed publications (usually issued weekly or monthly) containing articles and illustrations, typically covering a particular subject of area of interest.

 

In Reference List:

Author Last Name, First Initial Middle Initial. (Publication Date). Article title. Title of Magazine, Pages.

 

Hemingway, M. (2016, December 5). Change in the legal climate. The Weekly Standard, 8-12.

 

Magazines in Databases or Websites

These magazine articles require the use of a computer device to read and are found in a subscription database, most often in a library database, or on the Internet.

 

In Reference List:

Author Last Name, First Initial Middle Initial. (Publication Date). Article title. Title of Magazine, Pages.

Retrieved from URL or Database Name.


Hemingway, M. (2016, December 5). Change in the legal climate. The Weekly Standard, 8-12. Retrieved from http://search.proquest.com/docview/1845924498?accountid=5771.

Journals in Print

Printed publications (usually issued monthly, bimonthly or quarterly) containing articles in which scholarship relating to a particular discipline is published. They are usually peer-reviewed or refereed.

 

In Reference List:

Author Last Name, First Initial Middle Initial. (Publication Year). Article title. Title of Journal, Volume(Number), Pages.

 

Ramberg, B. (2009). The precendents for withdrawl: From Vietnam to Iraq. Foreign Affairs, 88(2), 2-10.

 

Journals in Databases or Websites

These journal articles require the use of a computer device to read and are found in a subscription database, most often in a library database, or on the Internet.

 

In Reference List:

Author Last Name, First Initial Middle Initial. (Publication Year). Article title. Title of Journal, Volume(Number), Pages. Retrieved from URL or Database Name.


Ramberg, B. (2009). The precendents for withdrawl: From Vietnam to Iraq. Foreign Affairs, 88(2), 2-10. Retrieved from http://search.proquest.com/docview/1845924498?accountid=5771.

Films in DVD format

Full-length feature films or movies that are on a DVD.

 

In Reference List:

Author Last Name, First Initial Middle Initial of Contributers. (Year of Film’s Release). Title of film [DVD]. Country of Origin: Studio/Distributor.

 

Shanley, J. P. (Director). (2002). Joe versus the volcano [DVD]. United States: Warner Home Video.

 

 

Video in Websites

Video clips that are found in subscription databases such as Netflix or on websites such as YouTube.

 

In Reference List:

 

A full-length film in a subscription website such as Netflix:

Author Last Name, First Initial Middle Initial of Contributers. (Year of Film’s Release). Title of film [Motion Picture]. Retrieved from URL.

 

DuVernay, A. (Director). (2016). 13th. Retrieved from http://www.netflix.com/title/80091741.

 

A video clip on a website such as YouTube:

Author Last Name, First Initial Middle Initial of Contributers. (Year of Film’s Release). Title of video clip [Video file]. Video posted to URL.

 

DuVernay, A. (Director). (2016, September 26). 13th | Official trailer [Video file]. Video posted to http://youtu.be/V66F3WU2CKk.

Web Pages in Websites

A document that can be displayed in a web browser, such as Google Chrome.

 

In Reference List:

Author Last Name, First Initial Middle Initial or Publisher if there is no author. (Publication Date or n.d. if no date). Web page title. Retrieved from URL.

 

Town of Montague. (n.d.) Village of Turners Falls, Retrieved from www.montague.net/pages/MontagueMA_WebDocs/Turners.

Formatting Your APA Style Paper

 

Formatting

  • Use Times New Roman 12pt font  

  • Set margins at 1" for all sides of your 8.5 x 11 inch paper

  • Double space (2.0)

Page Numbers

  • Insert in the upper right-hand corner of all pages, flushed with the right margin

Header

  • Insert in the upper left-hand corner of all pages, flushed with the left margin

  • Use title shortened to 50 characters, including spaces

  • Should be in all caps

 

 

Title Page

  • Include "Running head:" followed by the title in all caps in the upper left-hand corner. Following pages will not include "Running head:" - just the title as a header

  • Include this information centered on the first page:

    • Title

    • Your name

    • Teacher’s name

    • Course

    • Date

  • Double space (2.0)

 

 

Formatting

  • Reference citations are arranged in alphabetical order by author’s last name or, when there is no author, the article or book title

References Title

  • Title the page "References" and center it on the page

  • Do not underline, bold or italicize

Indentation

  • First line of each citation should be flushed with left margin

  • Indent remaining lines within a single citation - this is called a hanging indent

  • Double space (2.0)

 

 

In-Text Parenthetical References

 
  • Include in-text parenthetical references for all quotes and paraphrases - any idea that is not your own

  • NoodleTools can help you create parenthetical references for your citations