Skip to main content

Citation Styles Guide

MLA Style Citations - 8th Edition

Use these tabs to locate the type of source you are citing.

 

For more information about MLA Style see:

Standard Citation

Since there are now so many types of sources and it would be nearly impossible to create a citation for every source, MLA 8th edition has created one standard citation format that can be applied to every source.

 

In Works Cited List:

Author Last Name, First Name. “Title of Source.” Title of Container. Other contributors (translated by or edited by First Name Last Name), Version, Number, Publisher’s Name, Publication Date, Location.

 

 

Two authors:

Author Last Name, First Name and First Name Last Name.

 

King, Stephen and Peter Straub.

 

Three or more authors:

Author Last Name, First Name, et al.

 

King, Stephen, et al.

 

 

In-Text Parenthetical:

 

...the end of your sentence (Author Last Name or “Title” or Title of container” abbreviated to no more than four words Page).

 

...the end of your sentence (King 34).

Books in Print

Physical books you can hold in your hands.

 

In Works Cited List:

 

Whole Book:

Author Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Other contributors (translated by or edited by First Name Last Name), vol. no., City of Publication (Foreign cities only), Publisher’s Name, Publication Date.

 

Pollan, Michael. The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals. Penguin, 2006.

 

 

Chapter in a Book:

Author Last Name, First Name. “Chapter Title.” Title of Book. Other contributors (translated by or edited by First Name Last Name), vol. no., City of Publication (Foreign cities only), Publisher’s Name, Publication Date, Pages.

 

Pollan, Michael. “The Farm.” The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals. Penguin, 2006, pp. 32-56.

 

Books in Databases or Websites

Often referred to as eBooks or electronic books, books in databases require the use of a computer device to read and are found in a subscription database, most often a library database, or on the Internet.

 

In Works Cited List:

 

Whole Book:

Author Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Other contributors (translated by or edited by First Name Last Name), vol. no., City of Publication (Foreign cities only), Publisher’s Name, Publication Date, Name of database or website, URL.

 

Pollan, Michael. The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals. Penguin, 2006, Axis360, nmh.axis360.baker-taylor.com/Title?itemId=0017159368&includeRecommendable=false.

 

Chapter in a Book:

Author Last Name, First Name. “Chapter Title.” Title of Book. Other contributors (translated by or edited by First Name Last Name), vol. no., City of Publication (Foreign cities only), Publisher’s Name, Publication Date, Page(s). Name of database or website, URL.


Pollan, Michael. “The Farm.” The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals. Penguin, 2006, pp. 32-56. Google Books, books.google.com/books?id=QZ1D4Q8uZuoC&q=farm#v=onepage&q&f=false.

Reference Sources in Print

Physical encyclopedias, dictionaries, and atlases that you can hold in your hands.

 

In Works Cited List:

Author Last Name, First Name. “Chapter Title.” Title of Book. Other contributors (translated by or edited by First Name Last Name), vol. no., City of Publication (Foreign cities only), Publisher’s Name, Publication Date, Pages.

 

Freedman, Bill, et al.Global Warming.” The Gale Encyclopedia of Science, edited by K.  Lee Lerner and Brenda Wilmoth Lerner, vol. 4, Farmington Hills, Gale, 2014, pp. 2009-13.

 

Reference Sources in Databases or Websites

Often referred to as eBooks or electronic books, books in databases require the use of a computer device to read and are found in a subscription database, most often a library database, or on the Internet.

 

In Works Cited List:

Author Last Name, First Name. “Chapter Title.” Title of Book. Other contributors (translated by or edited by First Name Last Name), vol. no., City of Publication (Foreign cities only), Publisher’s Name, Publication Date, Pages. Name of database or website, URL.

 

Freedman, Bill, et al.Global Warming.” The Gale Encyclopedia of Science, edited by K.  Lee Lerner and Brenda Wilmoth Lerner, vol. 4, Farmington Hills, Gale, 2014, pp. 2009-13. Gale Virtual Reference Library, libraries.state.ma.us/login?gwurl=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&sw=w&u=mlin_w_nthfield&v=2.1&it=r&id=GALE%7CCX3727801117&asid=979f099120bbdb02e777841421d50cdc.

Newspapers in Print

Printed publications (usually issued daily or weekly) consisting of folded unstapled sheets and containing news, feature articles, advertisements, and correspondence.

 

In Works Cited List:

Author Last Name, First Name. “Article Title.” Title of Newspaper [City, State if local newspaper], Publication Date.

 

Stager, Curt. What the Muck of Walden Pond Tells Us about Our Planet.” The New York Times, 7 Jan. 2017.

 

Newspapers in Databases or Websites

These newspaper articles require the use of a computer device to read and are found in a subscription database, most often in a library database, or on the Internet.

 

In Works Cited List:

Author Last Name, First Name. “Article Title.” Title of Newspaper [City, State if local newspaper], Publication Date. Name of database or website, URL.

 

Stager, Curt. What the Muck of Walden Pond Tells Us about Our Planet.” The New York Times, 7 Jan. 2017. ProQuest, search.proquest.com/docview/1856440027/A0A2C78E70564AD7PQ/1?accountid=5771.

Magazines in Print

Printed publications (usually issued weekly or monthly) containing articles and illustrations, typically covering a particular subject of area of interest.

 

In Works Cited List:

Author Last Name, First Name. “Article Title.” Title of Magazine, Publication Date, Pages.

 

Hemingway, Mark. "Change in the Legal Climate." The Weekly Standard, 5 Dec. 2016, pp. 8-12.


 

Magazines in Databases or Websites

These magazine articles require the use of a computer device to read and are found in a subscription database, most often in a library database, or on the Internet.

 

In Works Cited List:

Author Last Name, First Name. “Article Title.” Title of Magazine, Publication Date, Pages. Name of database or website, URL.


Hemingway, Mark. "Change in the Legal Climate." The Weekly Standard, 5 Dec. 2016, pp. 8-12. ProQuest, search.proquest.com/docview/1845924498?accountid=5771.

Journals in Print

Printed publications (usually issued monthly, bimonthly or quarterly) containing articles in which scholarship relating to a particular discipline is published. They are usually peer-reviewed or refereed.

 

In Works Cited List:

Author Last Name, First Name. “Article Title.” Title of Journal, Volume, Issue, Publication Date, Pages.

 

Ramberg, Bennett. "The Precendents for Withdrawl: From Vietnam to Iraq." Foreign Affairs, vol. 88, no. 2, Mar.-Apr. 2009, pp. 2-10.

 

 

Journals in Databases or Websites

These journal articles require the use of a computer device to read and are found in a subscription database, most often in a library database, or on the Internet.

 

In Works Cited List:

Author Last Name, First Name. “Article Title.” Title of Journal, Volume, Issue, Publication Date, Pages. Name of database or website, URL.

 

Ramberg, Bennett. "The Precendents for Withdrawl: From Vietnam to Iraq." Foreign Affairs, vol. 88, no. 2, Mar.-Apr. 2009, pp. 2-10. ProQuest, search.proquest.com/docview/1845924498?accountid=5771.

Films in DVD format

Full-length feature films or movies that are on a DVD.

 

In Works Cited List:

Title of Film. Year of Film’s Original Release. Contributor(s), Studio/Distributor, Year of Release on DVD.

 

Joe Versus the Volcano. 1990. Directed by John Patrick Shanley, Warner Home Video, 2002.

 

Video in Websites

Video clips that are found in subscription databases such as Netflix or on websites such as YouTube.

 

In Works Cited List:

 

A full-length film in a subscription website such as Netflix:

Title of Film. Contributor(s), Studio/Distributor, Year of Film’s Release. Name of Website, URL.

 

13th. Directed by Ava DuVernay, Netflix Original, 2016. Netflix, www.netflix.com/title/80091741.

 

A video clip on a website such as YouTube:

Video Clip Title.” Name of Website, Posted by Poster(s), Date Posted, URL.

 

13th | Official Trailer.” YouTube, uploaded by Netflix U.S. and Canada, 26 Sept. 2016, youtu.be/V66F3WU2CKk.

 

Web Pages in Websites

A document that can be displayed in a web browser, such as Google Chrome.

 

In Works Cited List:

Author Last Name, First Name or Publisher if there is no author. “Webpage Title.” Name of Website, Publication Date, URL. Date Accessed.


Town of Montague. “Village of Turners Falls.” Town of Montague Massachusetts, www.montague.net/pages/MontagueMA_WebDocs/Turners. Accessed 1 Jan. 2017.

Formatting Your MLA Style Paper

 

Formatting

  • Use 12pt font

  • Set margins at 1" for all sides of your 8.5 x 11 inch paper

  • Double space (2.0)

Page Numbers and Name

  • Insert in the upper right-hand corner of all pages, flushed with the right margin

  • Include last name right before the page number

Your Information

  • Include this information in the upper left-hand corner of the first page, flushed with the left margin:

    • Your name

    • Teacher’s name

    • Course

    • Date (day month year)

Title

  • Center the title on the first page

  • Capitalize all nouns and major words 

Headings

  • While there is not specific format, be consistent throughout

  • Use different font styles for different heading levels

 

 

Formatting

  • Works cited citations are arranged in alphabetical order by author’s last name or, when there is no author, the article or book title

Works Cited Title

  • Title the page "Works Cited" and center it on the page

  • Do not underline, bold or italicize

Indentation

  • First line of each citation should be flushed with left margin

  • Indent remaining lines within a single citation - this is called a hanging indent

  • Double space (2.0)

 

 

In-Text Parenthetical References

 
  • Include in-text parenthetical references for all quotes and paraphrases - any idea that is not your own

  • NoodleTools can help you create parenthetical references for your citations