Schauffler Library: The Islamic Middle East: Iran

Databases

Academic OneFile
Access to peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.

To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Academic Search Ultimate
A good place to find scholarly articles for a variety of disciplines.

To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stablee
Global Issues in Context
A great place to start for research on global issues — learn background information, get analyses, see primary documents, view multimedia, and more.

To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to the highest-quality academic scholarly journals, books, images, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
A complete overview of today's most pressing social issues, covering the most-studied events and current information. It includes viewpoint essays, primary documents, articles from reference books, newspaper and magazine articles, and journal content, as well as streaming video and audio.

To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
ProQuest International Newsstream
Provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format.

To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable

Websites

CIA World Factbook
Find brief demographic summaries produced by the CIA.
Iranian Oral History Project
This archive contains personal accounts of over 100 individuals who played major roles in or were eyewitnesses to important political events in Iran from the 1920s to the 1980s. Filter by language to find interviews conducted in English.
Iran Poster Collection
The Poster Collection from the Hoover Institution Library and Archives consists of posters from many countries relating to a broad range of topics in twentieth-century history. The link above takes you to more than 200 posters from Iran.
Women's Worlds in Qajar Iran
This collection offers bilingual access to thousands of personal papers, manuscripts, photographs, publications, everyday objects, works of art and audio materials, relating to the lives of women in Iran during the Qajar era (1796-1925).

News from Iran

Al Jazeera

Al Jazeera English is a 24-hour English-language news channel operating under Al Jazeera Media Network, a news organization funded in part by the Qatari government. Al Jazeera introduced an English-language division in 2006, becoming the first global English-language news channel to be headquartered in the Middle East. They have reporters stationed across the globe.

BBC Monitoring Middle East

BBC Monitoring Middle East provides summaries of news coverage across the Middle East translated into English for their readers.

Islamic Republic News Agency

The Islamic Republic News Agency (IRNA) is the official news agency of the Islamic Republic of Iran. Founded in 1934 as Pars News Agency, it is government-funded and controlled under the Iranian Ministry of Culture and Islamic Guidance.

Tehran Times

The Tehran Times is an English-language daily newspaper published in Iran, founded in 1979 as the self-styled "voice of the Islamic Revolution." While not state-owned, it is considered state-controlled.