Schauffler Library: The Islamic Middle East: Israel / Palestine

Websites

The Avalon Project - The Middle East 1916-2001 : A Documentary Record
This website features core documents related to Arab-Israeli relations starting in 1916 and ending in 2001.
Institute for Palestine Studies - Chronology
This platform offers free and full access to the Palestine Chronology in a digitized format. Since the beginning of the Israeli invasion of Lebanon in June 1982, the Institute for Palestine Studies has chronicled daily political and military events. These day-by-day summaries are based on Palestinian, Arab, Israeli and international sources. Prior to August 2018, the chronology was published quarterly in the Journal of Palestine Studies. It is now updated monthly on this platform.
Knesset Archive
Digital Archives of the Israeli Knesset, the legislature of Israel. Visit this site to learn about the political structure of Israeli government and explore historical and contemporary materials from the Knesset.
Museum of the Palestinian People
The Museum of the Palestinian People in Washington DC offers exhibits dedicated to Palestinian history, arts, and culture. Follow the link to see some of their virtual tours.
Nakba Archive
The Nakba Archive is an oral history collective established in Lebanon in 2002. Since its inception, the Archive has recorded over 500 video interviews with first generation Palestinian refugees about their recollections of life in Palestine and the events that led to their displacement.
Palestine Poster Project
A web-based archives and curriculum project displaying more than 4,500 Palestine-related posters from 1898 to the present.
Toldot Yisrael - National Library of Israel
An oral history project focusing on those who were at least 16 years old at the founding of the State of Israel. Now housed at the National Library of Israel.
The United Nations - The Question of Palestine
The United Nations (UN) manages the world's largest online depository of documents related to the question of Palestine. Visit this link to find reports from the UN Committee on the Exercise of the Inalienable Rights of the Palestinian People, legal studies, and more.
UNRWA Photo and Film Archive
The United Nations Relief and Works Agency (UNRWA) has recorded all aspects of the life and history of Palestine refugees through film and photography. This has led to a rich audiovisual archive, containing more than 430,000 negatives, 10,000 prints, 85,000 slides, 75 films and 730 videocassettes.
Versa: Translated Opinions of the Supreme Court of Israel
This site features English translations of rulings from the Supreme Court of Israel. The project is hosted by the Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law of Yeshiva University. They hope to increase the visibility of and international engagement with the jurisprudence of the Israeli Supreme Court.

News from Israel and Palestine

Al Jazeera

Al Jazeera English is a 24-hour English-language news channel operating under Al Jazeera Media Network, a news organization funded in part by the Qatari government. Al Jazeera introduced an English-language division in 2006, becoming the first global English-language news channel to be headquartered in the Middle East. They have reporters stationed across the globe.

BBC Monitoring Middle East

BBC Monitoring Middle East provides summaries of news coverage across the Middle East translated into English for their readers.

Haaretz

This Israeli newspaper was founded in 1919. In North America the paper is published as a weekly newspaper, combining articles from the Friday edition with a roundup from the rest of the week.

The Jerusalem Post

The Jerusalem Post is an English language Israeli broadsheet newspaper based in Jerusalem, founded in 1932 during the British Mandate of Palestine by Israeli Gershon Agron as The Palestine Post. In 1950, it changed its name to The Jerusalem Post.

The Palestinian News & Info Agency

The Palestinian News & Info Agency, also referred to as WAFA, is the official state-run news agency of the Palestinian National Authority (PNA). The PNA is the government body that exercises partial civil control over the Israeli-occupied West Bank. Before the formation of the PNA in 1994, WAFA was the official news agency of the Palestine Liberation Organization.

The Times of Israel

The Times of Israel is an Israeli multi-language online newspaper that was launched in 2012 and has since become the largest English-language Jewish and Israeli news source by audience size.

Databases

Academic OneFile
Access to peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.

To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Academic Search Ultimate
A good place to find scholarly articles for a variety of disciplines.

To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stablee
Global Issues in Context
A great place to start for research on global issues — learn background information, get analyses, see primary documents, view multimedia, and more.

To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to the highest-quality academic scholarly journals, books, images, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
A complete overview of today's most pressing social issues, covering the most-studied events and current information. It includes viewpoint essays, primary documents, articles from reference books, newspaper and magazine articles, and journal content, as well as streaming video and audio.

To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
ProQuest International Newsstream
Provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format.

To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable