Schauffler Library: The Islamic Middle East: Saudi Arabia

Databases

Academic OneFile
Access to peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.

To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Academic Search Ultimate
A good place to find scholarly articles for a variety of disciplines.

To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stablee
Global Issues in Context
A great place to start for research on global issues — learn background information, get analyses, see primary documents, view multimedia, and more.

To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to the highest-quality academic scholarly journals, books, images, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
A complete overview of today's most pressing social issues, covering the most-studied events and current information. It includes viewpoint essays, primary documents, articles from reference books, newspaper and magazine articles, and journal content, as well as streaming video and audio.

To cite in NoodleTools: From source page choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable
ProQuest International Newsstream
Provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format.

To cite in NoodleTools: Choose "Cite," export to "NoodleTools," and import the citation into your NoodleTools project | URL in citation is stable

Websites

C.I.A. World Factbook - Saudi Arabia
Find brief demographic summaries produced by the CIA.
Library of Congress - Saudi Arabia Country Guide
The Library of Congress holds thousands of collection materials about and from Saudi Arabia. Curated by the Near East Section of the African and Middle Eastern Division (AMED), this guide is part of a series of country guides that provide quick references for countries and regions.
The Wilson Center Digital Archive
The Wilson Center Digital Archive is a resource where students, researchers and specialists can access once-secret documents from governments and organizations all over the world. Visit this link to see documents relating to Saudi Arabia.

News from Saudi Arabia

Al Jazeera

Al Jazeera English is a 24-hour English-language news channel operating under Al Jazeera Media Network, a news organization funded in part by the Qatari government. Al Jazeera introduced an English-language division in 2006, becoming the first global English-language news channel to be headquartered in the Middle East. They have reporters stationed across the globe.

BBC Monitoring Middle East

BBC Monitoring Middle East provides summaries of news coverage across the Middle East translated into English for their readers.

The Saudi Gazette

The Saudi Gazette, based in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia is one of the leading English-language daily newspapers. The Saudi Gazette publishes news and opinions concerning national, Arab, and international issues. According to Reporters Without Borders, virtually all Saudi media operate under direct official control. Even privately owned Saudi media follow government guidelines set out by the Saudi Press Agency (SPA).

Saudi Press Agency

The Saudi Press Agency (SPA) is the state news agency of Saudi Arabia. It was established in 1970 and functions under the country's Ministry of Media.